NEW SONG: “Black, Black Heart”

Hello again! I wanted to share a new song with you that I’m quite proud of for several reasons, but I’m most proud because it’s the first song I’ve written in over a year. That’s a very long space of silence for me when it comes to songwriting, and I’m elated to at least have one foot back in that realm. The song is called “Black, Black Heart”. Enjoy!

BLACK, BLACK HEART

I breathe in, I breathe out
I’m sure enough, and so I doubt
I give up, I press on
I am loved, I am alone

I’m nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart
No, nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart

I am real, still I fake
And I can give much as I take
I speak true, I tell lies
I got servants hands, I got thievin’ eyes

I’m nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart
No, nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart

I’ll lift you up, I’ll let you down
I’ll be your friend, I won’t stick around
I said I’m sorry, now say you’re sorry too
I’ll let you win long as I don’t lose

‘Cause I’m nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart
No, nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart

But if you think there’s still something about me
That you have not, or you have not received
You know, you shouldn’t trust me
But all he told me was to ask,
And to believe

I am blind, now I see
I am bound up, now I’m free
I am dead, I am alive
I been defeated, the victory’s mine
See I’m the same, the same as you
I’m just as different as you too
I am white, I’m white as snow
But should I melt, all the dirt will show

That I’m nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart
No, nothin’ more
Just one more
Black, black heart

One thought on “NEW SONG: “Black, Black Heart”

  1. Greetings from Toronto, Canada…..great song! Good to hear you’re back to songwriting. Keep them coming.   Nick Plagakis

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

